Perspective (how to get it)

I have no perspective. I am always so caught up in the moment that even when I think I am being cool-headed and rational I am actually too emotionally involved to see anything clearly.

My weight is climbing again, and as of fifteen minutes ago it was 130. Okay, I just got home, and it’s the end of the day. Fair enough. In the mornings, though, I weigh in at 129. Which is still more than where I was headed just three weeks ago. The number’s headed up. Why?

Here are the potential reasons I’ve run through in my head:

  • My bad eating these past two weeks is catching up to me. Even if I didn’t go over my calories by too much (assuming a 1600 TDEE) it still showed.
  • Hypothyroidism.
  • A normal plateau. This happened during the peak of my stressed out phase in early May, and it’s happening again. But this time I’m not so much stressed as depressed.
  • I’m depressed.
  • I’m not actually gaining fat; it’s water retention. Sore muscles. I have been working out more lately.
  • Not enough cardio.
  • Not eating enough. This one doesn’t make any sense to me because eating badly these past couple weeks is what seems to have gotten me in this predicament.
  • Week before TOM. Problem is, I can never remember when TOM is!

I’m going to stop weighing myself for a week and see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

